Coffee / Life

Auld Lang Syne 2015. Hello Life!

Today is the last day of 2015. Auld Lang Syne never fails to get me into a pensive mood so here is an update.

Head chef of coffee shop Strangers’ Reunion, Sebastian Tan, was diagnosed with lung cancer. Strangers’ Reunion started Save-A-Stranger campaign where they open on their day off with proceeds going to his costly treatments. 12 bartenders from various establishments across Singapore also organised a fund-raising event to help cancer-stricken Chef Tan, who has no personal insurance.

It is heartening to see different peoplesome do not even know himfrom the cut-throat F&B industry rally behind him during such a hard time. This is not a mere act of practicality but solidarity; which is why I will be writing about coffee in my book (okay, not just that).

I am working on a stroke memoir, (drum roll please) Coffee Drinkers Make Better Lovers. I had a freak cardiac arrest during a football game in March 2013. That is how I got a rare brain stem stroke at 33 years old with no serious health problems. Both sides of my body are affected and I have mobility and speech impairment now.

947223_10201537358814986_1759569200_n

Cover-Image

I decided to parlay a passion for specialty coffee and used its characteristics as a throughline by using the 3A for my narrative structureAroma, Acidity, Aftertaste.

3A

Aroma is about my long-distance relationship (SingaporeTokyo) that began on Instagram before the stroke. Acidity is everything that happened during my 4-month hospital stay. Aftertaste is how we cope with my disability after the stroke.

For someone who only reads coffee bean labels before his stroke, writing a memoir is a daunting task. Luckily a friend pulled together a Band of Backers to help me. I woke from a 5-day coma really wanting to write a book. And plus, I became a man of few words after having speech impairment so I want every one to count.

My experience at hospitals and Society for the Physically Disabled (SPD) is a paean that reminds us life is to be loved, not lived. It is an experience I am obliged to share, urging others to get more out of life with love.

More updates soon, keep your eyes peeledand that coffee hot.

3 thoughts on “Auld Lang Syne 2015. Hello Life!

  1. Hi I am the publisher of TOKYO CAFE, was just reading your post and thinking if there’s any help you need for the book, just give a shout out. Always ready to help a coffee lover.

Leave a Reply

