Coffee / Life / Love

Nothing can stop me from enjoying my coffee. Not even a stroke.

My packet of Panama Finca Villa Donia from Papa Palheta is not fresh anymore.

I collapsed during football in March 2013: my heart stopped beating and I had a stroke. Apparently I had arrhythmia, ventricular fibrillation and a Pons stroke. A Pons stroke is one that occurs in the brain stem which is responsible for basic but vital functions such breathing and heartbeat. I managed to survive after 3 days of coma in the intensive care unit where my girlfriend flew over to accompany me. I spent the next 4 months in hospitals and by the time I was discharged, my coffee beans were stale.

The first thing I did when I reached home was to take a good look around my room. The second thing was to clean my Hario Skerton and Hario Mini Mill grinders as they became dusty in my absence. The V60 was out due to my poor motor skills so I made coffee using my trusty AeroPress. I cut my fingers on the metal handle of the grinder and bled but nothing could stop me from enjoying my daily cup.

Not even a stroke.

P.S. Many thanks to my girlfriend, friends at identity COFFEEBAR + GALLERY and Barista Training Lab Tokyo for sending me freshly roasted beans from Tokyo. I am also grateful to friends at atomz who gave me an iPad so I can continue updating this blog and buddies who visited during my stay at the hospitals, giving me much strength (you do need a lot of it to survive bad coffee).

"Black Coffee" from Solberg & Hansen, sent by my girlfriend.

“Black Coffee” from Solberg & Hansen, sent by my girlfriend.

Beans from identity COFFEEBAR + GALLERY

Beans from identity COFFEEBAR + GALLERY

Jaime Molina beans from Barista Training Lab Tokyo.

Jaime Molina beans from Barista Training Lab Tokyo.

My Hario Mini Mill and AeroPress.

My Hario Mini Mill and AeroPress.

Leave a Reply

